beau.court.family

The story behind our Lemonade Stand

5 Comments

 

In 2009, I had this great idea to start a little Lemonade Stand with my kids.  I searched online, I searched party stores etc to find the perfect Lemonade Stand or something I could turn into a Lemonade Stand. I really wanted a Tiki Bar made out of Bamboo. I couldn’t find anything that was reasonably priced or anything that I loved. I decided to design our own Lemonade Stand. I searched online and found a wood cabinetry company that was going out of business. They let me come get all the wood I wanted for  $25.00. I drew up a sketch of what I wanted it to look like and my Dad, my Brother and a family friend named Joe, went to work on putting it together for me.  We put casters on the bottom so it wheels easily in and out of our garage.   I painted it and put the finishing touches on it.The Stand started out as a great way for me to teach my kids how to work and earn money and save money but it has turned in to so much more….
We opened for business late summer 2009. The Lemonade Stand was such a hit with all the neighborhood kids that we set regular business hours. We even set up a Facebook page under Daybreak Lemonade Stand so the parent’s know when we are open and what we are serving. I have personally had so much fun doing the Stand and I love seeing each of the kids faces each week as they line up and try to decide what they want to get that day. We have a Lemonade Stand “Playlist” that we turn on each week with songs including The Big Rock Candy Mountain, A Spoon Full of Sugar, Lollipop Lollipop, etc. I try to change up the Lemonade flavors. Some of the drinks we have served include: Pink Lemonade, Fresh squeezed Lemonade, Fresh Squeezed Mint Limeade, Strawberry Lemonade, Snow Cones etc. We pull out lawn chairs, bikes for the kids to ride, Sidewalk chalk, etc. and the party begins. The kids sit on the lawn and enjoy their treats and then go off to play. The Mom’s sit and mingle while the kids run around. I have seen the Lemonade Stand bring people out of their homes and out to our front lawn to mingle and get to know each other.
In the Fall as the weather get’s cooler, we change out our Lemonade Stand Sign and replace it with “Warm Up with some Hot Cocoa and Fresh Baked Sweets” and we serve hot chocolate and donuts.
It has been so fun to see who shows up week to week. I have had girlfriends from High School show up and bring their kids. I have had cousin’s drive from other cities nearby with their kids. This past summer was fun because my cousin’s from Michigan showed up and surprised me. We have Grandparent’s who come, lot’s of Cousin’s and even a Great Grandpa that comes frequently. I have a group of Mom’s that use the Lemonade Stand as an incentive for their kids each week. The Lemonade Stand is their kids reward for being good. They get to come pick out what they want!I love this little tradition we have going and I look forward to many more years of serving sweet treats to these sweet kids! 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The story behind our Lemonade Stand

  1. that really is the best stand ever!

    and, it was so fun to meet you at alt! i’m glad we got to chat for a minute. you are darling!

  2. Just another reason I have Spring Fever!!! I can’t wait to get out in the yard and then come get some Lemonade and visit. My kids are excited to have it be Lemonade stand season again.

  3. Courtney, that is the best idea ever. So cute too. We will have to make our way over there this summer.

  4. Courtney, that is the best idea ever. So cute too. We will have to make our way over there this summer.

  5. I love it! Too cute! Found this on pinterest. I hope this stand lives on for a long time. I have to tell you my nephew had a “lemonade stand” at church in the parking lot on friday nights for older teens. Kids just want a place to hang and drink lemonade!

Leave a comment