beau.court.family

Child Drowning Incident

6 Comments

 

We were at the pool the other day and I was talking with my friend and I looked over and saw Sawyer looking down at something in the water. I walked over to see what he was looking at and there was a small toddler head down in the water with its feet floating at the top. The child was limp and not moving at all. I leaned over and grabbed the childs foot and started to get them out of the pool, when a woman said to me quietly “it is not real”. I stared down at the small child only to realize it was a doll. It was the size of a 3 year old child and it had hair and a swim suit on and everything. It looked very real to me. Come to find out it was a test for the Lifeguards. One of the Lifeguards had put the child in the water to see how long it took the other lifeguard to notice. I stood there and watched and waited for the Lifeguard to notice this dying child. It took about 2 minutes! 2 Minutes too late! This child would have been dead. I stood their and watched as everyone at the pool went on with their conversations and activities while this child went un noticed. This was a big wake up call to me! You cannot depend on a Lifeguard to save your child. You cannot depend on other people to save your child. You really need to watch your own children while at the pool. You are the only one you can depend on.  After the 2 minutes had passed, the Lifeguard jumped into the water and swam across to save the small doll child. I didn’t get a picture that day but I attached a picture I found of what the doll looked like.

Kevin%20Infant%20CPR%20Manikin[1]

6 thoughts on “Child Drowning Incident

  1. Oh my gosh Court! That gave me the chills reading that. Wow! Scary and a good wake up call to us all. I really struggle allowing my kids to go swimming with people when I’m not there, this is one of the reasons. Thanks for sharing this.
    Miss you!

  2. Mr. Sawyer needs to be a lifeguard! He noticed it before the lifeguard did- wow. What a scary- but good- wake up call!

    (That doll’s sorta creepy, huh?)

  3. That story scared me!! I thought you were about to save a dead child. I’m glad it was fake, but crazy that nobody noticed-makes you sick.

  4. That is so scary. I was a lifeguard after High School and pulled a 2 year old out of a hot tub. There were at least 10 other people in that hot tub and no one noticed her. I had to do CPR and she was lifeflighted to Primary Children’s but later passed away. The thing that stuck out most in my mind is what the mother of the 2 year old said. She said that she had only been out of her sight for maybe a minute. I realized then that it doesn’t take long for something tragic like that to happen. I am a paranoid, overprotective mother because of that incident.

  5. Courtney,
    That was really scary. But not only did YOU notice the child but you noticed WHILE talking to me! The only job the lifeguard had was watching the swimmers. Now for you to be keeping an eye on Sawyer and Cavin, chit chatting with me AND holding Saylor you are one perceptive woman! You do have to admit we had a good laugh when we realized it was indeed a dummy. That picture of it is so creepy! That is totally what it looked like!

  6. I am sooooooooo glad you blogged this, we all need to be more aware! it only takes seconds and not just at a pool! any where where there is water we need to be proactive! thanks frances.

Leave a Reply

